Posted in blogging, life, love, stories, truth, writer, writing

A Series of Prompts….Name one thing you have always wanted to do but haven’t. What has prevented you from doing it?

florence

This is easy. I have always wanted to go to Italy, Florence and Rome in particular. It has been my wish to do this ever since I was 20 years old and fell in love with the renaissance and Michelangelo’s work.

I first found him at the library and I don’t know what it was that struck me most, the beauty of his sculpture, his paintings or his architecture. It was all so foreign to me how one person could be so talented and do so much. I was in awe of his talent and I still am. For me he epitomizes art. The way he looked at things and his attention to detail makes him, for me, the greatest example of an artist. Out of all of the artists I admire, he is my absolute favorite and it is his work that calls me to Italy the most.

250px-Tavares.Forum.Romanum.redux trevi fountain

Italy itself is enough for me to want to go. The streets full of beautiful squares and cafes’ hound my every thought. I dream of cavorting through the coliseum, looking into the eyes of David (although most likely it will be his but as tall as he is) and staring up at the ceiling of the Sistine chapel. I imagine eating gelato while sitting on the Spanish steps and walking through the roman forum snapping picture after picture to record my memories.

So many artists in one place and so many beautiful works would tempt anyone with a love of the arts to pack their bags without a thought and board a plane immediately. I know I would if I could.

spanish steps

As to what has kept me from it besides living my life and raising my children? I would have to say it’s been what keeps most of us from traveling to far off lands. Money or the lack of it I should say. Unfortunately I have not had the funds to go to Italy yet, but I will. Somehow and someway I will get there.

One day not too far from now I will be sitting beside myself with utter joy eating my gelato at the piazza beside the steps. I will remember writing this post.

And I will laugh!

Author:

I am a writer. My genre is poetry,although I also write short musings of life circumstances. I am a semi fashionista and an all world investigator. I observe the world and people around me intensely. A mom of 3 by nature and 4 by osmosis. I am a girlfriend a daughter a sister and most of all a fantabulous woman. Welcome to Blooville!! Enjoy the words cause the life is crazy!!

2 thoughts on “A Series of Prompts….Name one thing you have always wanted to do but haven’t. What has prevented you from doing it?

Tell me what You think..

